Failure during build

.NET obfuscator and automated error reporting

Moderators: Luke Jefferson, Alex.Davies, melvyn.harbour

Failure during build

Postby AntoineC » Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:51 am

When building my project with SmartAssembly 5 with the "I want to use strings encoding with improved protection" option, SmartAssembly build process fails with the following exception:
System.IndexOutOfRangeException.

Is this a known issue?

I have enabled all other settings in SA and the build works perfectly. The generated application is working without issue. I have a problem only with this option.

Thanks,

Antoine
AntoineC
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 4:50 pm

Postby Alex.Davies » Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:51 pm

Hi Antoine,
No, no-one has come across that issue before to my knowledge. I have an error report from you though, so we should be able to work out what's happened.

Thanks,
Alex
Developer,
Red Gate .NET Tools
Alex.Davies
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:23 pm
Location: Cambridge, uk

Also seen it

Postby maitpg1 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 5:59 pm

I have also seen this message.
I can't be any more help, though. I've had the product about a month, and I've been testing all sorts of things and working issues between v4.2 & v5, and I have long since forgotten what I was doing to cause it or to make it go away.
maitpg1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:29 pm

Postby melvyn.harbour » Mon Jun 21, 2010 2:34 pm

That's the advantage of the error reporting - we can see a lot of the internal details at the point where the failure occurred, so we should be able to track the problem down fairly easily, and make sure that it's fixed in a subsequent release.

Mel
Melvyn Harbour
Project Manager
.NET Tools Division
melvyn.harbour
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:27 pm

Postby Paul.Martin » Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:27 pm

In case anyone else has this problem, Alex had a look into the matter. He found that SmartAssembly was getting confused counting when it was trying to add the improved version the string encoding to strings when they are in the global namespace and class ("<module>").

The fix should be included in a forthcoming update (provisionally 5.2)

The two options I can suggest in the meantime:
- Use the standard version of string encoding
- Move the strings from the global namespace and class
Paul.Martin
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:20 am
Location: Cambridgeshire


Return to SmartAssembly 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests