I found a bug

Early Access Program for Schema Compare for Oracle

Moderators: David Atkinson, eddie davis, richardjm, alice.easey, Tom Harris

I found a bug

Postby bcpreece » Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:10 pm

It appears that with the latest build it is comparing all schemas even though you select a schema to compare on the startup screen.
bcpreece
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:52 pm

Postby alice.easey » Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:49 pm

To help us repro the problem at our end, can you tell us the steps you took to make this happen?
alice.easey
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:56 pm
Location: Red Gate

Postby bcpreece » Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:51 pm

Nothing special. I just selected the database and schema and clicked compare. I then noticed that it showed me differences in other schemas on the comparison screen.
bcpreece
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:52 pm

Postby alice.easey » Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:52 pm

Was it a brand new project?
Were you comparing databases or snapshots?
Did you have any options set?
If you close the project and start a new one, select a schema, does it still show you all of them?
alice.easey
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:56 pm
Location: Red Gate

Postby bcpreece » Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:56 pm

Was it a brand new project? - Yes

Were you comparing databases or snapshots? - Databases

Did you have any options set? - Default options

If you close the project and start a new one, select a schema, does it still show you all of them? - Yes it shows all schemas every time I compare
bcpreece
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:52 pm

Postby alice.easey » Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:08 pm

If there are dependent objects between schemas, they'll be pulled in for the comparison, because if you choose to sync the objects without their dependencies the database could be left in an invalid state.

e.g. if you have an object with a dependency on a table in a schema you haven't chosen to compare, that table will show up in the comparison results (and the sync script, if you choose to sync dependencies).

I think that's what's happening here - can you let us know if that's the case?

Do you think this is useful behaviour? What would your expectations be in this situation?
alice.easey
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:56 pm
Location: Red Gate

Postby bcpreece » Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:11 pm

That is most likely the case. I would need to use the tool more to know if this is helpful or not. My first instinct would be not to show dependencies unless there is changes contained in the dependencies or if I selected to show them.
bcpreece
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:52 pm

Postby alice.easey » Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:18 pm

OK. Thanks for all your feedback so far, we really appreciate it!
alice.easey
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:56 pm
Location: Red Gate


Return to Schema Compare for Oracle Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests