No schemas retrieved for comparison

Early Access Program for Schema Compare for Oracle

Moderators: David Atkinson, eddie davis, richardjm, alice.easey, Tom Harris

No schemas retrieved for comparison

Postby jcossio » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:23 pm

After I put my servers details via manual connection, the schemas to compare dropdowns do not populate even after a refresh list is issued. I type the schemas manually and hit compare no button and then I get the following error:

Could not load file or assembly 'Oracle.DataAccess, version=2.111.6.0, culture=neutral,...

etc.

Do I need to install something else? how.

Thanks

George
jcossio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:16 pm
Location: Colombia

Postby Simon C » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:34 pm

It looks like you haven't installed the ODP.NET assemblies that the program requires. You can have a look here for the required client install settings; you'll need to re-run the oracle client installer and install over the top of your existing install.

SimonC
Simon C
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 4:56 pm
Location: Red Gate Software

Postby alice.easey » Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:55 am

The latest build should allow you to connect without requiring the ODP.NET assemblies.

More info and download link here:
http://www.red-gate.com/messageboard/vi ... hp?t=10147
alice.easey
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:56 pm
Location: Red Gate

Postby jcossio » Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:50 pm

Thanks Alice. I was struggling to download the 487MB oracle client suggested by Simon (thanks Simon anyway). I downloaded the latest release of SC and now the schemas to compare retrieve information. But when I tell it to compare the following error comes up (after a while on "Registering database one" Populating PL/SQL text objects):

ORA-00904: "P"."OBJECT_TYPE": Invalid Identifier

And then aborts the process.

Thanks

George
jcossio
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:16 pm
Location: Colombia

Postby alice.easey » Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:14 pm

Hi George,

Thanks for trying out the latest version - I'm glad it's helped with the client issues.

It sounds like there's a malformed query somewhere. Is it possible for you to set up tracing so that it'll log the query on the server? Hopefully that'll help track down what's going on.

We're currently adding logging to the next build, which will make this process a bit easier.

Alice.
alice.easey
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:56 pm
Location: Red Gate


Return to Schema Compare for Oracle Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests