Run SQLPackager as upgrade

Packages and compresses schema and contents of SQL Server databases

Moderators: JonathanWatts, Chris Auckland, David Atkinson, david connell, Anu Deshpande, Michelle Taylor, james.billings, Marianne

Run SQLPackager as upgrade

Postby Garymazzone » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:37 pm

I have created a new package to add users to a database from a script. The exe works fine if I run from the GUI selecting the Upgrade an existing database option and select the database to run against.

How can I do this from the command line:

I have tried the following:
addusertest /server:usd503\\sql2008 /database:serviceshub /rundb:serviceshub -- Fails wit database already exists

addusertest /server:usd503\\sql2008 /rundb:serviceshub -- Fails wit database already exists

So how do I execute the package to perform an upgrade and not create a new database?
Garymazzone
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:18 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:31 pm

Hi Gary,

We have got a patched installation of SQL Packager (v6.0.1.9) that fixes this bug, so that a package will only create a database when the /makedatabase option is used. Please contact support@red-gate.com if you need this update. Since it's untested, we are only distributing the update if it's absolutely necessary.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to SQL Packager 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests