Missing ability to reset and insert markers on the timeline

Code profiling for .NET Developers

Moderators: StephenC, Alex.Davies, AndrewH

Missing ability to reset and insert markers on the timeline

Postby torerikh » Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:49 am

I'm missing the ability to either reset the profiling data, or insert markers on the timeline while profiling. Typically this is to remove / find locations on the timeline where an operation was started or prereqs for the things I want to profile is setup. As it is now I have to manually try to find back to the spot where I started and/or ended the operation I want to measure.
torerikh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 6:20 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:32 am

Hello,

This can be done in ANTS Performance profiler by adding a user event to your application code. If you reference RedGate.Profiler.UserEvents.dll in your project, you can then use the SignalEvent static method to add your own events to the timeline.
Code: Select all
RedGate.Profiler.UserEvents.ProfilerEvent.SignalEvent("My code is about to run");
This should definitely help you to find the right points in the timeline more easily.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am

Postby torerikh » Thu Jul 16, 2009 12:35 pm

Hi,

So it's not possible to do this through the profiler gui while profiling? I think such a functionality would be quite nice to have as one could then quite easily add markers without needing to make modofications to the source code. Would you consider adding something like this as a feature request?

Tor-Erik
torerikh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 6:20 pm

Postby StephenC » Thu Jul 16, 2009 1:03 pm

It's something that we are considering for upcoming releases and is in our tracking system.

We had actually thought about it for 5.0 but unfortunately other areas were more important overall so it was dropped.

If you have any other ideas that you feel would significantly improve the product then get in touch any time.

Kind regards,

Stephen
StephenC
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Cambridge

Postby Bart Read » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:20 am

Hi there,


You can bookmark regions on the timeline by clicking and dragging, then clicking the pencil icon in the top left corner. You can then enter a name for your region so you can select it again later.

When you select a region profiling results will be displayed for that region, so it's best to do this whilst your application is relatively idle in order to avoid skewing the results. You could get around this by selecting a very short period of time, and using the region just to bookmark one end of a time period of interest.

Hope that helps.


Thanks,


Bart
Bart Read
Principal Consultant
bartread.com Ltd
Bart Read
 
Posts: 977
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:17 am
Location: Cambridge, UK


Return to ANTS Performance Profiler 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest