Synonyms not identified as different

Automate and integrate using the SQL comparison API

Moderator: Chris Auckland

Synonyms not identified as different

Postby flcdrg » Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:59 am

Comparing two databases that contain synonyms similar to the following

schema 1:

CREATE SYNONYM [synSample].[InsertSummary] FOR [dbOne].[dbo].[InsertSummary]

schema 2:
CREATE SYNONYM [synSample].[InsertSummary] FOR [dbTwo].[dbo].[InsertSummary]

Why aren't these highlighted as a difference?

We're using the SDK to update a database and this change wasn't noticed by the SDK. We've confirmed that SQL Compare 8 also doesn't show this as a change in the UI.

-dave
flcdrg
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:24 am

Postby simon.jackson » Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:03 am

There is an option which is set by default ( IgnoreDatabaseName ). If you remove this from your compare options the difference should be detected. The equivalent option in Compare 8 is "Database and server name in synonyms" in the Ignore section

The decision to make this option default was taken because old versions of compare used not to detect these differences.

Hope that helps
simon.jackson
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:42 am


Return to SQL Comparison SDK Previous Versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests