Can I generate two sets of data into the same table?

The simplest way to populate your database with test data.

Moderators: David Atkinson, Anu Deshpande, Lionel

Can I generate two sets of data into the same table?

Postby screek » Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:19 am

Is it possible to generate two (or more) sets of data into the same table?

For example, I have generated a table of "Persons" and a table of "Organisations". Now I want to generate a table of "Addresses" which sources data from both the "Persons" and the "Organisations" tables (so that there is one address record for every person and every organisation)

Is this possible?

I tried about setting a a view across both parent tables and sourcing from that but the generation does not seem to occur in the right order and the Addresses tables ends up blank.

Thanks
screek
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:34 pm

Postby Brian Donahue » Tue Dec 30, 2008 1:02 pm

Hi Stephen,

In the current version of Data Generator, you cannot generate the data in one column based upon SQL Data Generator-generated data in another column. It works only with existing data. This could be addressed in a future version.
Brian Donahue
 
Posts: 6670
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:48 am


Return to SQL Data Generator 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest